Mix ‘n Match Anthology by Wayward Ink Press: Promo and Review

Synopisis of the Anthology

The heart wants what the heart wants.

Race…

Culture…

Creed…

Become little more than words in the dictionary when the heart sets its sights on its desire.

Join our authors as they explore interracial themes ranging from the challenges of loving someone from another culture to fighting for the right to love at all.

  MIX ‘N’ MATCH

Celebrate diversity with us.

 My Review

4.5 Stars

Firstly, as I’ve done in several past reviews of Wayward Ink Publishing Anthologies, I need to state that I have written a short story included in the Mix n Match anthology. It’s called Through The Front Door. I enjoyed writing it and I hope people enjoy reading it. I will let others review it.

That done, I can get on with the review.

Mix n match is intended to be a bunch or fictional romantic m/m works featuring interracial or interethnic  pairings. I enjoyed and supported the concept enough to write a short story myself. I think it’s a great idea. It has the potential to open up discussions, create understanding, and showcase certain issues. I truly believe Mix n Match accomplished just that.

What I enjoyed most of all was that, over all, the stories concentrated on the romance. There were still sexy bits, lots of them, but not many overly erotic scenes, something I prefer.

And, now, onto reviewing the individual stories.

 

A front door could be many things:

Hope, fear, a fresh start, a cold expanse of nothingness.

What will Thomas Ng’s front door mean for Daniel Grimm?

 

 STORIES INCLUDED

Forbidden

 

Sage never imagined a trip down south would lead to so many discoveries.

He also never expected to meet Eugene, who is as different from Sage as north from south.

Two young men from different backgrounds.

Can they find friendship and love while surrounded by those who consider their desires to be forbidden?

My Review

4.25 Stars

This was an interesting story about a young African-American in the South who meets a young free-spirited Caucasian. I enjoyed the character development, the morals, and the overall interaction between the two main characters. I especially enjoyed the author’s take on the socio-economic differences and similarities between the two. It was a delightful romantic tale.

ThroughTheFrontDoor

As always, I will let others review my work.

Here`s an Except just for fun

I think about how my family, friends, and employer will react to this news. This is definitely disturbing. I know I’ll have to deal with the fallout soon. It scares me, but it’s Gary’s hateful tone regarding Thomas that is really upsetting. I just don’t understand it.

How can someone such as Gary, who’s been subject to harassment and discrimination himself, condemn or discriminate against someone else? I have always been a proponent of the idea that if one wishes love and understanding about one’s differences, one has to love and understand others’ differences.

Reactions like Gary’s baffles me. I’ve known there was discrimination within the gay community based on race, economic status, or against other communities within the LGBT context, but I thought a rational, educated, intelligent person like Gary wouldn’t stoop to that. That kind of thinking has always made no sense to me.

I glance up. Thomas’ eyes are still locked on me. I feel my cheeks redden. My cheeks reddened even more. I’m so embarrassed. I check device again. I fiddle with the settings of the app and change the passcode. I look up again to Thomas, whose expression hasn’t changed. “I’m sorry you were put in the middle of this.”

DeceptiveHistories

 

When Miguel falls for Van, he gets caught in the crosshairs of an angry spirit.

A spirit who cursed Van’s family long ago.

Can Miguel and Van break the curse?

Or will their lives end in ruin?

Excerpt

“Well, that’s your prerogative.” Van slid his hand out of Mike’s grip. “But I don’t believe that kind of stuff.”

“Fine, but please listen for a minute. At brunch Carmen saw angry Native Americans come into the house with you. She said one old woman was an ancestor of yours who’d put a curse on your white bloodline. The old woman claimed tragedy follows your family and you can’t run from it. Only if you honor your Native American blood will you be set free.”

“That’s nonsense.” Van pursed his lips and shook his head. “I can’t believe you all invited that crazy old woman to brunch to do this weird vetting of me.”

“What are you talking about? I didn’t even know Carmen was coming to brunch.”

“Let’s just drop it.” He tapped his Android and began texting. “I’m gonna clean Lance Filiatreau’s pool tonight. I won’t be back until late, and I’ve got a super busy day tomorrow, so you’re going to need to sleep at your dad’s.”

“All right, no problem.”

The old yellow van in front of them backfired and rolled forward. Mike’s burns stung when he lifted his foot from the brake pedal. As the Civic crept closer to the border, he felt a kind of dread he’d never experienced. As badly as he wanted to discount Carmen’s vision, he couldn’t. And regardless of whether her vision held merit, he feared he’d made a terrible mistake sharing it with Van. He’d never seen him so cold and dismissive. He hoped he hadn’t unwittingly driven a stake into the heart of their relationship.

My Review

4.75 Stars

Eric Gober did a wonderful job on this one. In the mix and match, we have someone of Hispanic/European decent and some of European/Native American decent. There are a few amazing things about this story.  One was Eric’s ability to develop the characters using plot development. Another is Eric’s choice in concentrating on the action and the character development, and not any overtly romantic or erotic points. It made the story poignant and real.

 MeschianzaMeetings

 

Philadelphia, 1778
Lieutenant Penton has two problems: dealing with society functions and hiding his passion for Isaac, a slave.
When invited to assist with preparations for the Meschianza, he sees it as a brief escape from both.
However, the night will prove to have more to offer than he ever would have dreamed possible.

My Review 

4.5 Stars

This story is a wonderful historical erotic romance featuring an Englishman and an African slave.  It was one of the more steamy and erotic of the stories. The intimate scenes are delectable . The historical details and the cultural descriptions and nuances are what made the story for me, as did the the character development.

AHopelessMirage

 

After hearing “no rice” enough times, Guy decided to swear off dating apps and men, only to find himself falling for his best friend’s boyfriend.

 My Review

4 Stars

I enjoyed this. It’s somewhat angsty, which was fun. The story is based on the main character’s misreading the original situation. The characters’ cultural differences do play a part in the plot and character developments, but aren’t really necessary to the plot. I’m okay with that.

ATouchOfParadise 

 

Hauled to work in Hawaii, Tudor has little time to enjoy the island paradise.

His obnoxious friend Radu has it much easier, using his free time to set Tudor up, dangling a willing Hawaiian beauty in front of him.

Having been burned by long-distance relationships before, Tudor stubbornly resists Kahoni’s advances.

But can Tudor be worn down enough to enjoy a touch of paradise?

My Review

5 Stars

Once again, Alina was brilliant. Her character development, as usual,was tight, funny, and nuanced. I especially liked Radu, who was basically a straight character put in for comic relief. I would love to have a friend like him. The two romantic protagonists were cute together. I also enjoyed the subtle socio-economic mic class moral statements.

 ASurprisingService

My Review

4 Stars

This was an interesting erotic romance. The intimate scenes have just the right amount of steamy descriptions. Once again, the fact the two protagonists are of different ethnic/racial origins is not terribly relevant to the plot. As in the other story mentioned. This is a good thing.It validates the notion that differences in race don’t matter. It’s the people who do. It’s a nice read.

It’s another frustrating chore in Nick’s day: getting the boiler serviced.

But when Prince walks through the door, it’s not just the heating that gets hot.

 Belong

 

Sent by the Royal Flying Doctor Service to curb an outbreak of influenza in an Australian outback aboriginal community, Dr. Dan is ready for anything.

Except Tommy…

A half-caste aboriginal who feels he doesn’t belong…

Anywhere.

My Review

5 Stars

Lily is again brilliant. In this story filled with wonderful characters, the ethic/racal aspect is relevant to plot. The characters were realistic and multi-dimensional. The story puts an intriguing spotlight on the Aborigines culture and contrasts it well with the predominant Anglo-European one. The plot was wonderfully romantic without being erotic. Another must read.

KissOfTheSouth 

 

The north and south have been divided by war. But love has other plans for Joseph Calder and Ephraim Pickett.

My Review

4 Stars

What a little treat this is. Set in the South, this short tale is about the escape of a slave, with help from the man who loves him. Nice and sweet.Home

What if the man you thought you could never have was waiting for you all along?

My Review

4.75 Stars

This story is wonderfully multi-layered and poignant. It revolves around two ex-Mormon young men of different ethnic origins. It jumps from past to present seamlessly. The topics discussed are deep, yet the story remains light and romantic. Must read

 

BOOK TRAILER: https://youtu.be/FBASoRyBvsY

BUY LINKS

Take advantage of the following sales:

WAYWARD INK WEBSITE: 50% OFF FROM 25-28-MAR-2016

WAYWARD INK WEBSITE: 35% OFF 29-31-MAR-2016

AMAZON / B&N / GOOGLE / APPLE ETC: 30% OFF TILL 31-MAR-2016

ALL ROMANCE eBOOKS: 30% OFF TILL 31-MAR-2016

WIP: http://www.waywardinkpublishing.com/product/mix-n-match-a-wayward-ink-publishing-anthology/

Amazon Canada: http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01CYM24GE/

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CYM24GE/

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01CYM24GE/

Amazon AU: http://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B01CYM24GE/

Amazon DE: http://www.amazon.de/dp/B01CYM24GE/

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-mix039n039matchawaywardinkpublishinganthology-2000013-166.html

 

Leave a Reply

