The Hunt by Jo Tannah:Review

The Hunt by Jo Tannah

Blurb:

Lieutenant Marcus Kildud and his men are rangers for hire. They specialize in insertion, extraction, escape and evasion. He answers an urgent request from the Planet Terrus’ Prelate, the Lord Fulsam, whose son has disappeared and presumed dead.

Their task is to find the ring the Prelate’s son wore. The promised compensation and bonus offered are enough to make this their team’s final mission.

What they meet in the forest is something none of them have ever encountered before. Marcus now faces the unimaginable. He realizes too late that sometimes, running away may be the only option left to staying alive.

My Review:

5 Stars

I’ve said this before but it bears repeating: I like Sci-Fi.  I enjoy a nice story that explores futuristic technology, on a different planet or in space while also exploring different socio-economic and cultural aspects with a bit of adventure thrown in. The Hunt has all of this.

Sci-Fi shorts aren’t easy to write because expectations are usually very high and world building is difficult to condense. One needs to explain things succinctly, leaving some things to the imagination. Jo Tannah manages to do this rather well.

As the title suggests, this in an adventure story.  The plot is simple yet intriguing with some neat little twists. Quite enjoyable. The social commentary is delightful as well.

Here’s why I think everyone should read this book:

In the Hunt, as part of the characters’ development, there are hints of romances. The romance isn’t the center of the story and I find this actually quite amazing because,  although most mainstream Sci-Fi stories have some kind of romantic subplot to give the characters depth, Jo does things a little differently.

You see, the romances in most Sci-Fi are usually heteronormative. Those that aren’t, are usually considered not-normal in the societies being portrayed, or are considered the norm because the society portrayed is a mirror-dystopian one.

Jo takes her characterization is a different way. She doesn’t explain or judge the budding relationships. Some happen to be homosexual in nature. Some may not be. The main character, Marcus, is reticent to start a relationship with one of his fellow crewmates, not because that crewmate is a male, but because Marcus is the leader and leaders have a responsibility to all their crew, not just one member. This can be a lot to juggle.

There aren’t nearly enough stories out there that have non-heteronormative relationships, and even fewer that don’t have to justify it or that don’t make the reader think, “Wait. This could never happen.”

Jo manages to make the universe The Hunt inhabits, her characters, and her characters’ romantic inclinations, plausible and normal.  I thank her for that, deeply, from the bottom of my heart. I hope to read a lot more stories like this from Jo Tannah.

Buy Links:

Book Trailer Link:

About the Author:

I am a wife, mother and blogger by day, a writer by night. It can be  difficult to say the least but it is a challenge that keeps me on my toes.

I grew up listening to folk tales my father and nannies told either to entertain us children or to send home a message. These narratives I kept with me and finally I wrote them down in a journal way back when I kept one. Going through junk led to a long forgotten box and in it was the journal. Reading over the stories of romance, science fiction and horror I had taken time to put to paper, brought to light that these were tales I never met in my readings.

The tales I write are fictional but all of them are based on what I grew up with and still dream about. That they have an M/M twist is simply for my pleasure. And I hope, yours as well.

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00RCKB5J6

Twitter: @JoTannah

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/jotannahauthor

Website :  http://jotannah.com

Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/JoTannah

Email: jotannah1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

