Review of Collars ‘N’ Cuffs

Collar N Cuffs Tour Banner

Title: Collars ‘N’ Cuffs
Authors: Layla Dorine, Aimee Brissay, Lily Velden, Alina Popescu, Kassandra Lea, Carol Pedroso, Eddy LeFey, Asta Idonea
Genre: Gay Romance, BDSM
Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing

Synopsis

How about a little bondage?

Does D/s get your motor running?

Do you enjoy a serving of pain to go with your pleasure?

Does your mouth water at the thought of clamps and cuffs and other naughty stuffs?

Then look no further!

The authors of Collars ‘N’ Cuffs have dripped wax on their keyboards, flogged their erotic bones, and whipped up their creative juices to bring you a collection of stories certain to enflame your imagination.

Collars N Cuffs Cover

 My Overall Review

4.5 Stars

As always, I need to state that I have a story in this anthology. I won’t be reviewing my own, but I will review the other stories as objectively as I can.

Each story brings something different to the table. Some follow traditional BDSM trope and some do not. There are sexy explorations of sexuality and interesting descriptions of D/s social or personal interactions and even a few moral questions thrown in.

The stories are well written and should give something for everyone. Going in without expectations is the key, in my opinion, to thoroughly enjoying each of these stories.

Stories included

FORGED IN STEEL

Layla Dorine

The last thing Flint expected upon discovering a homeless young man rummaging through the dumpster behind his shop was a kindred spirit.

The last thing Trace expected to find in that dumpster was a home.

Review

4.5 Stars

This is a fairly light story, despite the fact that it deals with some pretty heavy stuff, including different types of loss. It flows well. The character development is believable. Anyone who’s had to deal with the loss of a loved one knows what impact such a loss can have on a person, much less an eighteen-year-old losing not only both his parents, but his home, his security, his sense of belonging and his hope for the future.

The D/s situation is believable and the events leading up to the poignant ending were sweet. The D/s interaction, including the sex was just wild enough to be interesting without being over the top, and therefore unbelievable.

The only slight problem I had was the fact the bank took the house and didn’t give a cent to the main inheritor. Surely there’d be something left. Other than that this story was quite wonderful.

 

PLAYING IT SAFE

Aimee Brissay

To safe or not to safe?

That is the question.

 

The last thing Trace expected to find in that dumpster was a home.

Review

4.25 Stars

From the first page of the story, I was worried. The premise, for anyone who’s had even a little experience with D/s dynamics or BDSM, is surprising to say the least, if not alarming. Having someone want to give his ex-partner such a present as a BDSM session with no safeword would alarm anyone.

Thankfully, as the story progresses we learn, through some very creative descriptions and skillful writing by an author with quite a bit of knowledge of BDSM, that there are in fact safeguards in place to some degree, including the good responsible personality traits of the character who’s been asked to take on this endeavour. The situation could have led to a much different ending if any of the variables laid out by the author weren’t present, but they were and we readers can lay back and enjoy the story. This isn’t for everyone though.

 

ROOM TO PLAY

Lily Velden

Jack wanted to dabble in some light BDSM, looking for a little role play. A little role-reversal.

Rhys took to their games like a duck to water.

 Excerpt

“On your knees.”

I chuckled to hide my momentary exasperation and annoyance. This was getting out of hand and, after the last few days, was somewhat of a surprise.

“At least let me get inside and put down my briefcase.” My gaze traveled down Rhys’ bare chest to his crotch, noting his semirigid cock protruding from his unzipped fly. He was going commando. Typical. “Or is putting on a performance for our unsuspecting neighbors part of the scene you have planned?” I felt funny using the word “scene”, but since we’d been dipping our toes in the waters of some light BDSM, it seemed appropriate to use the jargon that went with it.

Without saying a word, Rhys took two steps back, allowing me to gain entry to our house. Holding his gaze in an effort to convey a silent message of equality, not submission, I used my foot to close the front door behind me and placed my briefcase on the floor. Before I’d even released my grip on the handle, he repeated his commands.

“On your knees and suck my dick.”

I straightened, squaring my shoulders. “No.”

Review

5 Stars

Those readers who’ve paid attention to my reviews will probably have noticed that I keep giving Lily Velden 5 star reviews. I try to be objective and fair when I’m reviewing but in this case, I was hoping to find something wrong with this story, not to be mean, but really it was so no one thought I was brown-nosing the publisher who happens to be the author of this wonderful story. I couldn’t find anything wrong, hence the rating.

I like this one a lot because it goes against what I perceive to be the overused BDSM trope of one-dimensional stagnant characters who fit either the D or s part of D/s, who don’t change and are only there so the author can shock people with overindulgent descriptions of kinky and/or dangerous sex. Lily throws that out and introduces a thoughtful commentary on D/s and BDSM play dynamics all the while still allowing her characters to be sexy as all get out.

 

A TOUCH OF KINK

Alina Popescu

A moody and angry Tudor follows his friend, Radu, to the airport to pick up a client.

Despite Radu’s efforts, he’s still sulking over his boyfriend, Kahoni, not being able to fly over for his birthday.

But the airport only opens up the door to a stream of steamy surprises for Tudor. Will his mood improve?

Collars N Cuffs 3D Cover Review

4.75 Stars

Kahoni, Tudor and Radu are back! I first saw them in Waywards’s Mix n Match story A Touch of Paradise. The characters, especially Radu are just as zany… the character development and touch of angst is awesome, showing us a bit of what a long distance relationship can feel like. The touch of kink flows well into the story. It is a wonderful read.

 

LET’S DANCE IN SIN

Kassandra Lea

Samuel wants to play with his favorite toy and Flynn is only too willing to oblige.

But first, he has a little treat for his delectable angel.

Review

4 Stars

I enjoyed this. I enjoyed the interplay between the angel and the devil, both emotionally and physically. The switch is nice, as well. The character development and the slight variation of the usual trope is refreshing.

 

NEW LOVE, NEW SIGHT

Carol Pedroso

Exiled and lonely, Sorl longs for home.

Kidnapped, blind, and scared, Unjarf seeks help of any kind.

When they meet can love bring rescue, hope, and most importantly new sight?

 Review

4.5 Stars

I enjoy Sci-Fi. The world building in this was interesting. The author creates two races that happen to follow the common BDSM one dimensional strict D/s trope, but does it in a unique and interesting way. The characters are so endearing, especially Unjarf, that the strict adherence to the trope is easily overlooked.  There is no explicit sex scene, it’s all implied, which goes against trope, and I find it refreshing. It’s about the relationship, not the sex, although there is a scene in which Unjarf and Sorl play.

I’ve actually read this story more than once, so I know I really like it. The lower than expected rating is due to the fact that other stories in this anthology shine brighter, for me. It’s still a great read.

 

SWITCH

Eddy LeFey

Robert is floundering, trying to get his life back together.

Daniel offers to help, to teach Robert what it means to truly let go of control, in order to be able to seize it again.

Life truly is a…. switch.

Excerpt

Robert practically stomped his own feet apart. He clenched his fists. His heart started

to beat faster. “I’m going to have to discuss privacy with my uncle. For a stranger, you know far too much about me.”

Daniel simply cocked his head. “Get back inside, Robbie. You hurt your uncle’s feelings.”

I hurt his feelings? What about my feelings?

Robert would not feel guilty. “I am not one of your submissives who will lap at your feet and pant at you because you push them around!”

Daniel’s mouth dropped open. He slowly walked toward Robert. When he was within ten feet, he stopped. “You really need to educate yourself. Although some people enjoy that kind of kink, it’s not for everybody. Besides, I’m not strictly a Dom.”

Really? Could have fooled me.

Robert rolled his eyes. “Oh, please. Of course you are. Look at you! You scream Dominant! I’m surprised you don’t carry a whip around with you.”

Daniel smirked and shook his head. “I’ll give you some leeway because of the trauma you’ve experienced, but it’s obviously clouding your judgment. Do you not remember what I called you this afternoon? What do you think it means?”

A young little switch. I remember. I remember that smug smile, too.

Robert shrugged his shoulders. “Someone who isn’t a good submissive?”

Daniel laughed. “That’s Frank talking. A switch is someone who can be both dominant and submissive, usually in separate scenes, but not always.”

Seriously?

This time, Robert was the one who laughed. His voice was harsh yet uncertain. “Are you telling me that you’re a switch?”

Review

I hope you enjoyed the excerpt because that’s all you’re getting. This is mine, so no review.

 

HELL BOUND

Asta Idonea

When Taharial, angel of purity, descends to Hell to reprimand him, lust demon Asmodeus cannot resist having a little fun with his unwanted guest.

However, when he chains Taharial to his bed, events take a turn he didn’t expect.

Review

4.5

In this story, we find ourselves in the same world as 21st Century Demon and Hell to Pay, although the characters are different. This time a demon and an angel find each other. The premise is interesting and the outcome has a nice moral ending.

The in-between is well thought out and sexy. The dynamics between the two main characters and the council of angels is intriguing. A good read.

Buy Links

Don’t miss the discounted buy prices valid until 48 hours after release!

WIP: http://www.waywardinkpublishing.com/product/collars-n-cuffs-a-wayward-ink-publishing-anthology/
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-collars039n039cuffsawaywardinkpublishinganthology-2057986-166.html

Amazon Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/Collars-Cuffs-Wayward-Publishing-Anthology-ebook/dp/B01G984JB2/

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Collars-Cuffs-Wayward-Publishing-Anthology-ebook/dp/B01G984JB2/
Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Collars-Cuffs-Wayward-Publishing-Anthology-ebook/dp/B01G984JB2/
Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/Collars-Cuffs-Wayward-Publishing-Anthology-ebook/dp/B01G984JB2/
Amazon DE: https://www.amazon.de/Collars-Cuffs-Wayward-Publishing-Anthology-ebook/dp/B01G984JB2/

Book Trailer

Giveaway

Prize – 1 x $10 WIP Gift Card
a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Leave a Reply

