Monday Flash Fic for October 17, 2016

Here’s the Flash Fic for Monday, October 17, 2016. The pic was posted on October 10, 2016. Word count is 500. To see the pic that inspired this story visit:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/786704538067126/

And now here’s the Story:

 

To Be or Not to Be

Holy Crap! What’s going on?

I’ve asked that question many times over the last month. I’ve gone through periods of waking up not knowing where I am. Dreaming of wolves and other nightmarish things, but this takes the cake.

I woke up again, out in the middle of nowhere, on this overhanging cliff that looks like something out of a friggin Disney movie. Except this cliff overlooks a beautiful lake I`ve never seen before and not an African savanna. I hear growls in back of me.  Wolves, like in my nightmares. I`m cornered. I have nowhere to go but to jump off this cliff. I don`t think I can survive this either way I look at it. Tumbling to my death into frozen chilling waters, or get eaten by wolves. I step closer to the edge. I hope I’m dreaming.

I hear a growling. I turn around. A wolf strolls in front of me. The next thing I know, it’s transforming into the most striking man I’ve ever seen in my life.

What the hell’s going on?

I should be in shock. After all, a wolf just transformed into a man, a good-looking one, right in front of me. Except, I’m not. I’m embarrassed and self-conscious. There’s no way my body could ever compare to his. As my hand slides in front to hide my privates, the man chuckles.

“Edward, there’s no need to be embarrassed. We’re friends.”

“You know my name? How?”

“It will all make sense to you soon. You’re going to start to remember everything, but there’s no time for that. We brought you here to give you a choice. A rogue werewolf bit you about a month ago. Your body is going through changes. We can’t allow you to be alone, but we will be giving you a choice.”

“A choice?”

“You can join us, or jump from the cliff. You won’t survive. We’ll make sure you don’t. You can’t deal with all the changes happening to you… not alone. You can’t live alone anymore. It’s too dangerous. You’re living proof of that.”

“I’m like you? A shifter?”

“Yes. Now go sit on the cliff edge. Relax. Remember. Decide.”

I breathe in deeply. Nothing is making any sense. I shake my head and turn toward the cliff. Sitting down, I look toward the lake. It’s beautiful. I let the air rush over my skin. I don’t understand anything that’s happening. It’s surreal. If I join them, will I ever be able to go home?

Suddenly, I feel a jolt. Images rush through my mind. Wolves. I’m running with them. One in particular. A black wolf with a turf of red in his forehead. He turns into a man. The man I just spoke to. We…oh.

I stand and turn around and gesture to the naked man.

“You’re Martin. I like you… and you like me. Is that right?”

Martin grins at me.

“Yes, Edward. It is.”

“I’ll come with you.”

The wolves howl all around me.

2 thoughts on “Monday Flash Fic for October 17, 2016

Leave a Reply

