Monday Flash Fic for October 24, 2016

Here’s the Flash Fic for Monday, October 24, 2016. The pic was posted on October 17, 2016.  To see the pic that inspired this story, visit the link below. It’s a great pic.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/786704538067126/

Word count is 499

And now here’s the story:

The Dream

It’s like waking up from a dream. Actually, it literally is. My eyes flicker open, but I can still sense the  dream playing out. It was a long one—confusing. The characters are suddenly bunched together, events mixing into a stew of confounding facts.

I open my eyes. I’m looking down at my knees. My vision seems blurry. Soon, I realize that I’m bent over and part of my body is encased in glass, a green syrupy liquid surrounding mu lower half. A slight pain at stomach level heightens my senses. Something is cutting my skin. I attempt to rise from my waist being careful not to cut myself deeper.

“Wait. Stop. You’ll hurt yourself.”

Strange. The language is familiar and unfamiliar at the time. It’s not quite how I remember it, but I’m not sure why. I do understand the gist and cease my upward movement. I try to speak, but my voice seems not to be working. I moan, cough, and grunt a few times.

“Did you hear me? Are you okay? Can you understand me?”

I try to speak. Whoever it is sounds young. I can hear the fear in their voice. “Y-Y-Yes. I-I-I under-understand.”

A hand gently touches  the back of my head. I tense up.

“Don’t be afraid. My name’s Jacko. I just want to see if you’re hurt. I accidently broke your pod playing with my ball.”

The hand brushes my middle.

“The glass hasn’t broken your skin. It’s safe to stand, but there’s sharp glass over you. Stay a bit stooped so you don’t cut yourself.”

I do as the young voice says. As I strengthen myself, vertebrae by vertebrae, I find myself in a position to finally take in my surroundings. Right in front of me is  a  young human , possibly eight years of age. He’s dressed in a one-piece made. I turn my head and am shocked to see hundreds of humans encased in liquid filled receptacles.

Looking down, I see that I am naked. I don’t understand how this could be. I don’t remember how I got here. The heat of embarrassment flows through my body and I try to shield the young person from having to witness my rudeness.

He laughs. “You’re shy. We’ll have to get you some clothes.”

I shake my head still confused. His eyes widen. “Oh. You must be wondering where you are. You’re on a ship. We’re headed back to Alpha Centauri.”

A Ship? How can we be headed there? Why would we be? I ponder these questions and many more. Suddenly, one question seems most important. “Who am I?”

The boy’s tilts his head, his eyebrows rising. “It says on the pod that your designation is E-243-T-Alpha.”

“What does that mean?”

“You’re a clone, bred for high-level analytics. Stay here while I get my dad. We’ll clean you up and get you another pod.”

I nod. I wait. All I want to do is go back to dreaming of freedom.

 

One thought on “Monday Flash Fic for October 24, 2016

Leave a Reply

