Monday Flash Fic for November 21, 2016

Here’s the Flash Fic for Monday, November 21, 2016. Doing this a little early because I’m going to be busy, but it’s the 21st somewhere…

The pic was posted on November 14th. Word count is 500. I enjoyed writing this 🙂

To see the pic that inspired this story visit:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/786704538067126/

And now here’s the Story:

Coming Out to my Best Friend

My friend Eddy’s fearless. He can do anything he puts his mind to. I admire him for that. He came out as gay at twelve years old. He’s so beautiful.

I’m the opposite. His limbs are long, willowy and graceful. His muscles are taunt and not overly pronounced, except for his legs. Not me, I’m nerdy, as tall as Eddy but much lankier, my muscles are far less developed and I’m definitely not out of the closet 

We’ve been friends for years. Summers with Eddy are the best. In our spare time, we explore the forest that surrounds our little town. We roleplay a lot.

At the moment, Eddy’s an elf and I’m a mage. We’re on a quest to rescue our feudal lord, exploring one of the many backwoods trails. The bridge over a small creek is old and useless. Eddy opts to cross the creek via a large tree trunk nearby.

I take this opportunity to give Eddy a little challenge. “Eddy, there’s  an orc in back of you, gaining on you. You’ll have to fight it!”

“You’re such a bitch, Mike. Fine. I opt to evade it by somersaulting over it and pushing my blade in his back.”

Swinging his arms forward, then back, he lifts off with such grace, I’m spellbound. He looks like an elf with invisible wings. He tucks and comes down with wonderful precision on the log… and then falters. 

I can’t believe my eyes. He’s never missed a landing before. As he falls, my heart stops. He lands on the ground near the water, and remains still. I run to him. He remains unresponsive as I shout his name. I pat him down in search for cuts and broken bones. I move near his head to check for breathing. I feel his breath on my cheek. Thank God. I shake him lightly, to no avail.

“Dammit, Eddy. Why did you have to do that? Please, wake up.”

I look towards the creek. Maybe a splash of water will do the trick. I scoop some water in my hands and splash his face. Nothing. Now I’m worried. I check his breath once more. He’s still breathing. “Eddy wake up. You have to be okay. I don’t know what I’ll do without you. I love you. I’ve wanted to tell you for so long.”

Suddenly, arms surround me. Eddy opens his eyes, lifts his head and his lips touch mine. It’s sweet and brief. My first kiss.

Eddy releases me. “It’s about time you tell me. I’ve been out for four years waiting for you to come out to me and tell me what we both know. You love me.”

I punch Eddy in the shoulder. “You bastard. I thought you were hurt!”

“I had to do something. With your parents, chances are you’d never come out. I’ve  wanted to kiss you for ages. I love you.”

I sigh. I lean in for another kiss. He loves me, too. That all I’ve ever wanted.

One thought on “Monday Flash Fic for November 21, 2016

Leave a Reply

